Home > Literary Agents > British Literary Agency to Open Indian Branch

British Literary Agency to Open Indian Branch

Aitken Alexander Associates will open an office in Delhi, India, from the 17th of January 2011, and is delighted to welcome Shruti Debi, who joins the agency as senior agent and director of Aitken Alexander Associates India Pvt Ltd. Aitken Alexander is the first British agency to open an office in India, and in addition to Ms Debi the new company’s directors are Gillon Aitken, Clare Alexander and Andrew Kidd.

Shruti Debi worked for seven years at Picador India, where she oversaw all editing, marketing and publicity responsibilities for the company and developed an acclaimed, prize-winning list. Lauded in particular for her talent-spotting, Ms Debi will seek out the most vibrant and interesting new voices from a rapidly changing region, as well as provide local support for Aitken Alexander’s existing roster of outstanding subcontinental writers, which includes Aniruddha Bahal, Sadanand Dhume, Shehryar Fazli, Mohammed Hanif, Raj Kamal Jha, Manju Kapur, Amitava Kumar, Pankaj Mishra, Cyrus Mistry, Kavery Nambisan, Manjula Padmanabhan, Allan Sealy, Aatish Taseer and Tarun Tejpal.

Aitken Alexander Chairman, Gillon Aitken, says: ‘With the agency’s longstanding and close relationship with the subcontinent, it seemed to us a natural step to open an office there. This will give us a unique presence on the ground, and with Shruti at the helm we are well placed to discover and nurture what we expect to be a rich seam of talent in the coming years.’

Shruti Debi says: ‘This is very exciting for me. I am looking forward to the great range of new and fresh work that we are going to have more and more of from a fascinating literary environment. And it is nothing less than a privilege to bring to writers in India the depth and wealth of experience offered by Aitken Alexander, which has shepherded the careers of some of the brightest authors of our times. It will be fun.’

Press release courtesy Book Trade.

Categories: Literary Agents
  1. January 23, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    Interesting. Very useful.

  2. rasanaatreya
    January 24, 2011 at 8:18 am

    Thanks, Anand. If you have a completed manuscript, there are two contests running (one is the very prestigious Amazon/Penguin one). Check them out.

  3. Dilip Naik
    January 24, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    I am delighted to know that such an agency has been opened in Delhi.

  4. rasanaatreya
    January 24, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    They don’t seem to have a website up. I’ll post it as soon as I find out about it. BTW, how did you find my blog? From the “Writing in India” list?

  5. PARAG PALEJA
    January 24, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    i m 47 year old banker. i have brilliant story ideas. i can narrate stories. but i cant write. i need aco author who can convert my narration into literature. english is not my first language. i dont think in english. my vocabulary is limited. but the stories are extraordinary. the book when published will be a best seller.& i should know because i have been a voracious reader all my life. i have read more then 25000 books so far. can you help?????????????
    parag.paleja@sbi.co.in

    • February 6, 2011 at 11:21 pm

      Currently I am working with 2 authors, a woman from India about Indian-New York connections, and a woman from the U.S. whose Indian husband (and travels to India) inspired a cross-culture love story. If you have story ideas that work cross-culturally, then I would be interested in learning more. tstaveteig@myliterarycoach.com

      • rasanaatreya
        February 7, 2011 at 8:38 pm

        Hi, this isn’t what I do typically. I just work on my own stories. Regards.

  6. rasanaatreya
    January 24, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    What you need is a ghostwriter. Send email to the mailing list below. Maybe someone can help: writingindia@yahoogroups.co.uk.

    Regards.

  7. Chandan Kumar Panda
    January 25, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    I would like to know the contact details of Aitken Alexander Associates India Pvt. Ltd, which has opened its office in Delhi this month.

  8. rasanaatreya
    January 25, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    I’ve not been able to get any info as yet. I’ll post it as soon as I come across any.

  9. Ali Mahdi
    February 2, 2011 at 10:42 am

    Please let me know the Adress of Atkin Alexander Associates India and the e. mail adress of Ms. Shruti debi. We have read in an article of you publishing house in Outlook.

    i will be really thankful to you.

    Regards

    Ali Mhadi

    • rasanaatreya
      February 2, 2011 at 11:19 am

      Hi Ali, I’ve been trying to find this myself. I’ll post it as soon as I can get some info. From what I understand, right now the Agency is looking after the authors it already agents. They don’t seem to have started signing up new clients. I can’t find any web link as yet. Regards.

  10. February 6, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    Hello,
    I want to know a literary agent who is reliable and can publish my book .

    • rasanaatreya
      February 6, 2011 at 5:57 pm

      This info is not publicly available as yet. Will let you know when I find it.

  11. May 11, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    Hi, I am very excited to know about the India office of AAA. I am a poet and writer from Calcutta with 4 books of poems published from Writers’ Workshop, Calcutta. I also have two completed manuscripts and I am waiting to get in touch with Ms Shruti Debi. But there is no way that I can send my mssg to Ms Debi as no mssg sending rules have been laid by the company apart from the agency’s London office. Please help…

    • rasanaatreya
      May 11, 2011 at 9:54 pm

      Hi Bob,

      I’m just a fellow writer who has a blog. I’m afraid I have no special knowledge regarding this office. Your best best is to follow their submission guidelines.

      Rasana

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

