Home > Authors Speak > Harlan Coben’s Interview

Harlan Coben’s Interview

Harlan Coben’s interview with the Writer’s Digest (I just LOVED this response) –

Q. You’ve said you used to make fun of “write what you know,” but that you’ve actually made it work for you. Are there other adages you find to be bad advice?

A. The one I hate the most is when writers say, “I write only for myself. I don’t care who reads it.” That to me is like saying, “I talk only to myself. I don’t care who listens.” Writing is about communication. You can call it art and you can call it commerce, but without the other side it’s playing catch and you’re throwing the ball and no one’s there to catch it. And that’s a really important thing to remember. People writing only for themselves, it’s probably therapy.

Click here for the rest of the article. Worth a read.

  1. May 30, 2011 at 5:25 am

    I LOVE it, too!

    • rasanaatreya
      May 30, 2011 at 9:58 am

      The guy’s something else. 🙂 Hope you read the rest of his interview, too!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

