Home > On Writing > Good Editing Tip

Good Editing Tip

When I’m editing my 91,000 word manuscript (over and over and over), one thing that seems to help catch typos is changing fonts. But another tip which is said to help (and which I’ve been too lazy to employ) is to read your work out loud.

Click here for another writer’s perspective.

Categories: On Writing Tags: , , , ,
  1. writingturtle
    June 4, 2011 at 8:35 am

    I’ve always read my work out loud to find errors (it helps a lot), but I’ve never heard of changing fonts. Thanks for mentioning it!

    • rasanaatreya
      June 4, 2011 at 9:52 am

      No problem. Another thing I do is download the writing to Kindle. Amazing how many errors I’ve caught that way. If you keep reading the same way (same font, same machine), your eyes know what to expect and skim over a lot of stuff. Another trick copy editors use is to read the *whole text* backward! I can’t imagine doing that for my 92,000 word manuscript! 😉

  2. June 4, 2011 at 11:57 am

    Reading out loud is amazingly good for editing, but font changing? I’ve never thought of that but it sounds like a great idea. Thanks!

    • rasanaatreya
      June 4, 2011 at 6:33 pm

      No problem. I have another tip in the comments section. Check it out.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

