Home > Amazon and Kindle, Ebooks > WSJ Endorsers $3000 for ebook Formatting?

WSJ Endorsers $3000 for ebook Formatting?

I was blown away by anarticle which in appeared in the Wall Street Journal in which a self-published author paid a company $3000 to ‘act as her digital publisher.” When all you need to do is send an email to a Smashwords.com address for you to get back a list of inexpensive formatters (which is what a digital publisher essentially does. As for uploading the ebook to Amazon, you have to be trying real hard to mess it up). Refer to Smashword’s formatting guide for details on how to get that list.

Fact of the matter is that this whole digital publishing is so new that even publications like the WSJ don’t think anything is wrong for someone to be paying $3000 to format a book, when you can get someone to do this for as little as $25. Even I can do it in a few hours.

Click here for the entire article.

 

  1. November 1, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    Highway robbery. And to think that the unsuspecting newbie will fall for it. Sad!

    • rasanaatreya
      November 2, 2011 at 10:25 am

      I know. And people still think they have to approach someone to ‘self’-publish, not realizing self-publishing is exactly what it means – when you publish it yourself.

  2. asheernutTanushree
    November 2, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    Interesting. I have just started using a tool called “Scrivener”, which can automatically export your completed novel to Kindle format. Quite cheap too, though I am using the free NaNoWriMo trial version.

    • rasanaatreya
      November 2, 2011 at 2:16 pm

      Tanushree, good to hear from you! Hope you’re NaNo-ing as well. I missed yesterday because my husband took me out for the day for my birthday (not that I’m complaining! 🙂 Just means I have to catch up those additional words.

  3. November 3, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    Funny, I thought I left a comment yesterday. I intended to, but since I don’t see it here I guess I didn’t. 🙂 So much for good intentions!
    I was shocked that anyone would spend that much money to “self-publish”. As you say, self means exactly that – me, myself and I. I can understand paying someone to do the formatting and cover if you are a complete technical dummy, but that would amount to a mere fraction of $3000.00. It’s a shame that people are so ready to extort money from innocent and unsuspecting people. I got caught once, though it only cost me the price of the copyright registration and the postage to send the ms. But with that experience I have become wary and have no intention of falling for a scam again.

  4. rasanaatreya
    November 3, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    Scary that when even mainstream publications are clueless. BTW, I got an email yesterday saying you’d ‘liked’ me, but that didn’t show up, nor did your comment. Something must have gotten messed up yesterday.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

