Home > Guest Blogs > GUEST BLOG: Chris Redding

GUEST BLOG: Chris Redding

Holidays.

I love them.

But I am not productive during them. I like my routine though I do need to shake it up sometimes. But it is my routine that keeps me on an even keel. It is my routine that allows me to write and be productive.

I’m writing this two days after Thanksgiving. I’m not stuffed. We had a huge hike yesterday, but I am a little discombobulated. Not that I would trade in any holiday for anything.

I just wish I knew a better way to get back on the wagon of my routine. So here I am writing a blog post and not really sure what to say in it.

Later I have to write a longer one.

Still not sure what to say in that one.

I know writers who don’t take time off. I don’t think that’s good for everyone. I’m someone who needs down time. I also need to live and interact with my family. They kind of like when I do that.

But what I really want to do is finish my next workshop. I need to do a little more research and then finish the lectures, but I can’t seem to wrap my brain around it.

I’m sure this happens to writers, but does it happen to others?

Does an electrician say he doesn’t feel like wiring today? Nope.

So what am I doing? Priming the pump with this blog post. Just write. Just sit in the chair and move your hands over the keyboard. It will prime the pump. You will get moving again. You just have to commit to it.

The other option is called “Refilling the Well.” Do something creative other than writing. If you like to knit or arrange flowers. Whatever you hobby/skill is, do it. Then come back to the keyboard and you will find that the words flow.

Thanks for listening to my ramble.

Chris Redding lives in New Jersey with her husband, two kids, one dog and three rabbits. She graduated from Penn State with a degree in journalism. When she isn’t writing she works part time for her local hospital.

www.chrisreddingauthor.com

http://chrisredddingauthor.blogspot.com

www.facebook.com/chrisreddingauthor

www.twitter.com/chrisredding

  1. November 29, 2011 at 5:19 am

    Chris, I know what you mean. Since devoting all my energy to getting my book lunched I now need to get back in the saddle – not an easy task. Nice to know I’m not alone. Good luck.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

