Home > Contracts, Getting Published > Why I Chose to Decline Contract from a Mainstream Publisher

Why I Chose to Decline Contract from a Mainstream Publisher

Before I declined the offer (more on this later), I talked to a few authors published by different mainstream publishers. They wrote good books which disappeared without a trace because they were not promoted like the big name authors. I decided to see what I could do on my own, so I’m self-publishing.

I know the word ‘self-publishing’ seems to imply that your work is sub-par.

But my unpublished manuscript was shortlisted for the Tibor Jones South Asia prize for unpublished manuscripts.

And I’m paying for a professional edit of my book, I’ve commissioned a book cover, I’m paying a book formatter – in short, doing everything a mainstream publisher would do.

In addition I’ll be doing the promoting, which they might not do for a mid-list author like me. And I’m not closing the door on mainstream publishing – in fact my ‘almost-publisher’ and I parted on very good terms, with them being open to considering my next book.

I’ve embarked on a journey that is exhilarating, scary, probably unprecedented. Lets see where this takes me.

Click here for my guest post.

 

 

 

 

  1. February 7, 2012 at 11:36 am

    I wish you success, Rasana. And the energy to attain it!

  2. rasanaatreya
    February 7, 2012 at 11:51 am

    Thanks, Diane. You’re right about the energy. Boy, does it take a lot out of a person! Having said that, I’m glad to be taking charge of my own destiny, so to speak! 🙂

  3. Vrinda
    February 7, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    A brave decision, Rasana. And a well-considered one. You have a lot working in your favour– a good story, the fact that the manuscript was short-listed for a reputed prize, the thorough research into publishing options… All the best! My Kindle awaits your book 🙂

    • rasanaatreya
      February 14, 2012 at 11:41 am

      Thanks Vrinda. I can use all the support I can get.

  4. February 7, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    I like your courage Rasana.

  5. rasanaatreya
    February 8, 2012 at 8:17 am

    Thanks, Yvonne. I thought long and hard before doing this. Rasana

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

