Home > Amazon and Kindle, Ebooks > Buy My Book, Be My Beta-Reader?

Buy My Book, Be My Beta-Reader?

There’s an interesting post on a wordpress blog by someone who calls herself VacuousMinx, on rushing to publish. She talks about an author who’s been engaging her reviewers, making changes to her book based on reader suggestions and re-uploading, if there’s such a word, to Amazon. At what point do you cross the line from engaging readers of your books, to using them as your beta readers?

Apparently another author made changes to her book based on reader feedback (the 1 star ones), and i now sells both versions online; f she gets complaints about the ending, she suggests the reader buy the other copy as well.

What do you think about this?

Categories: Amazon and Kindle, Ebooks
  1. August 23, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    I’ve seen some other indie authors doing this as well, and I have to say I’m not sure I agree with changing your storyline after you’ve pubbed it. I mean, it’s the writer’s story, they can do whatever they want, but it’s almost like betraying the reader’s trust in a storyline that stays static. One of the authors did that to a book I liked, and now I have to upload the revised edition because he stated the change will affect his future books in that world. I must admit, that feels a little irritating to me, especially since I liked the book the way it was, but hey- who am I?

    • rasanaatreya
      August 23, 2012 at 5:29 pm

      I don’t know that I’d care for it if I were a reader.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

